New Year, New Decade……..

…and a Happy New Year to you, as well…..

It  occurs to me that we can now ditch that long-winded ‘two-thousand-and-‘ way of naming the year in favour of ‘twenty-ten‘ or ‘twenty-eleven’ and so on, which all sounds a lot crisper and simpler.

Anyway, I spent the early minutes of Twenty-Ten in the best possible way really, sat in my mate Ade’s kitchen, listening to Tom Bellamy start the year with a cracking rendition of ‘Visions of Johanna’ , which, if not actually my favourite Bob Dylan song, must be pretty damned close to it…

It’s a new decade, too, and perhaps the most sobering thing for me was to reflect – firstly back to the Millennium, which seems only a couple of years ago,  and then forward to the next decade, by which point I will be in my late 60’s.  Now there’s a scary thought….wonder if I’ll still be here?  Wonder if I’ll still be doing this or will blogs just be dismissed as so terribly ‘noughties’ by then?  Only time will tell…..

Leave a Reply

