The End of the Pier Show……..

I had an awful dream last night.  I was alone in a hotel somewhere in England’s West Country.  I was bored.  For some reason, I had one cigarette and one match.  I told myself how stupid I would be if I smoked it – and yet I struck the match and lit the cigarette……..and woke up with a jolt.

One major side-effect of Champix, the anti-smoking drug I have been taking for about the last 3 months (God, it seems like forever…..) is that it plays havoc with your sleep patterns.  For some reason, I sleep for  shorter periods at night these days anyway and the Champix has only accentuated that.  So, after my dream I was wide awake and it was only 5 a.m.

The smoking dream is probably because today is the final day of the regime that has seen me smoke-free for the longest period of my life since I was 16 years of age.  However, I take my final tablets today and from then on, it’s clear blue water and just me without a lifebelt.  It’s scary, too….I feel as though I have come so far after 40+ years as a smoker, but I really have no idea of how difficult or easy life will be without my pharmaceutical safety net.  I just don’t want to undo all the progress I have made.  Still, I should be encouraged by all the others who have made it this far and have succeeded.  Time for a bit of positive thinking……

Leave a Reply

