No smoke, no joke….

Regular readers will be aware that my efforts to stop smoking are being monitored by the Practice Nurse at my local surgery.   She’s been great so far, but she did say something yesterday that – unfortunately – has lodged in my mind.  She said something like “Well, you’re coming up to Weeks 3 and 4 and a lot of people say that this is the most difficult period.  You feel better on a number of levels, so the tendency is to think that the odd cigarette won’t really be a problem”

Hmmmm….

Well, I have to say I do feel better on a number of levels and although I haven’t seriously been tempted to go out and buy a pack of cigarettes, what I would say is that I have been more conscious of the craving for one than I have been at any other point in this process.  Why should that be?  The drug is presumably still doing its job, so maybe I’m just having a bad day….just have to see how it goes over the next few days.

japan-crying-cigarette

Pictured above we have more anti-smoking fun from Japan.  I know that the relevant agencies in this country have tried all kinds of things to stop people from smoking, with appeals to their vanity, their self-esteem, their love for their kids and so on, but I don’t think I’ve seen a UK ad that tries to reach out to the romantic in us like this ad does.

Leave a Reply

