Smoke-free and somewhat slightly dazed….

After the ‘phoney war’ of the last week where I have been both taking an anti-smoking drug (Champix) and also smoking, the next stage of the regime has kicked in, where I have to stick my head above the parapet and actually stop smoking.  So, I smoked my last cigarette about 5:30 pm yesterday and have now moved on to the next phase of the treatment where you take 2 x 50 mg tablets a day instead of 2 x 25 mg.

So far, so good and I can already appreciate the effect that the drug is having.  Champix actually blocks the receptors in the brain that tell us we need that next cigarette, so any ‘cravings’ are either cut out or reduced to a muted background ‘noise’ that is relatively easy to ignore.  The side-effects thus far seem to be  a weird taste in the mouth, a feeling of being a little dazed and a tendency towards drowsiness.  It’s early days, I know, but I am encouraged…..have now booked an appointment with the Doctor’s with a view to discussing the next phase, which is  the long haul of a further 10 weeks or so of this treatment

2 responses to “Smoke-free and somewhat slightly dazed….

  1. I have tried to quit for several years- over 15 in fact! I finally found something that helped me. I quit a little over 2 years ago and have not looked back. I could not have done it without the help of the stop smoking expert. It is definitely worth checking out. You can find it at http://tinyurl.com/nomoresmokes. I’m telling you, after I quit, my lungs thanked me and I have felt better than ever before… Not to mention I can actually taste my food! Seriously, check it out!

  2. Thank you for the heads up…I will check this out…..17 days and counting….

Leave a Reply

